## Review of Representation Arrangements

Under sections 19H and 19J of the Local Electoral Act 2001, Kaipara District Council is required to carry out a review of its representation arrangements for the triennial local authority elections to be held in 2019 and 2022.

On 26 July 2018, Council resolved, to adopt as its initial proposal for the review of representation arrangements for the 2019 and 2022 triennial elections, the following:

- Kaipara District Council to comprise eight councillors elected under the ward system, plus the mayor elected at large;
- (ii) Kaipara District Council be divided into four wards, these being:
  - Dargaville Ward (two councillors) being the existing ward comprising the township of Dargaville (the area delineated on SO Plan 70435 deposited with Land Information New Zealand);
  - Kaiwaka-Mangawhai Ward (two councillors) comprising the southeast area
    of the district including the townships of Kaiwaka, Mangawhai, Mangawhai
    Heads, Oruawharo, Oneriri Peninsula, Hakuru and surrounding areas;
  - Otamatea Ward (two councillors) comprising the State Highway 12 townships from Tokatoka back to the Brynderwyns including Ruawai, Matakohe, Paparoa, Maungaturoto, Taipuha, Ararua, Pahi, Whakapirau, Tinopai and surrounding areas;
  - West Coast-Central Ward (two councillors) comprising the area surrounding Dargaville through to Waipoua Forest, including Kaihu, Aranga, Donnelly's Crossing, Mamaranui, Omamari, Bayly's Beach, Hoanga, Tangowahine, Tangiteroria, Te Kopuru, Pouto, Turiwiri and Aropohue;
- (iii) no community boards be established;
- (iv) the reason the total number of councillors is proposed to remain at eight (plus the mayor) is to provide effective representation to Kaipara District residents and ratepayers (whilst still ensuring accessibility to a large area made up of populated towns and villages and sparsely populated rural areas).

The four proposed wards, the number of councillors per ward, the ward populations (estimated as at 30 June 2017) and the population ratio per councillor are as follows:

Ward	Population	Councillors	Average	% Variation
Dargaville	5,080	2	2,540	-9.8%
Kaiwaka-Mangawhai	6,170	2	3,085	+9.55%
Otamatea	5,480	2	2,740	-2.7%
West Coast-Central	5,830	2	2,915	+3.52%

In accordance with section 19V(2) of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the population that each councillor represents must be within the population range of 2,816 plus or minus 10% (2,534 - 3,097).

## Submissions

The initial proposal has been submitted for formal consultation, including inviting written submissions for any interested person or organisation in the period from 1 August to 31 August 2018.

Submissions can be provided through the website www.kaipara.govt.nz/RepReview, by email to haveyoursay@kaipara.govt.nz, or in hardcopy. Submission forms and the full statement of proposal can be downloaded from the website and is available from the Dargaville office at 42 Hokianga Road or the Mangawhai office at Unit 6, The Hub, 6 Molesworth Drive, from 1 August 2018.

Submissions should state your name, address, telephone number and email address (if you have one) and should reach the Council no later than **4pm on Friday 31** August 2018.

Council will read and consider all submissions. Please clearly state if you wish to speak in support of your submission and note that any submission made will be available to the public. Hearings and meetings on the review will be open to the public.

For more information, see the consultation pages on our website: www.kaipara.govt.nz/RepReview

Curt Martin
Acting Chief Executive, Kaipara District Council



**KAIPARA**